Intersecting Minds: Education, Business and Technology at the North Carolina State Jenkins Graduate School of Management

And Just Like That… | January 11, 2010

I’m back on campus here in North Carolina State ready for my first day of class. Does it feel really different? It’s hard to say right now. In some ways it does, and in some ways, it’s like I never left. The people are the same, the MBA lounge is the same, and I’m sure the intensity of the coursework will be the same.

But at the same time, I’m carrying the weight of the past 8 months with me, too. The internship at Genentech over the summer and the time spent in Denmark have broadened and clarified what it means to be here in Raleigh. For one thing, I’m extremely aware of how little time we have left until graduation: 4 months. And while that sounds like a considerable length of time, it’s really not. Between school work, assistantship activities and fun activities, we’re going to be so busy that the time will slide by almost without us noticing.

I think about my friends back in Europe often. I wonder what they’re doing, and how they’re classes are going. And if I close my eyes I can picture CBS and Solbjerg Plads and the library where I spent so many hours studying. I do miss it, but I’ve moved around enough in my life at this point that the effects seem somewhat blunted.

I’m ready for this semester to start, our last one before graduation, and I’m anticipating the challenges and successes that are sure to come with it. Here’s to a great one.

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

    Categories

