Intersecting Minds: Education, Business and Technology at the North Carolina State Jenkins Graduate School of Management

Nearing the End | December 6, 2009

I’m coming home in 2.5 weeks. Wow. I’ve been living in Copenhagen for four months, just long enough to get into a groove here, and now I’m preparing myself to leave.

Nobody here really wants to think about it. We’ve all been having so much fun learning about each other and from each other, and as a result, the weeks have flown by and it’s already December 6th.

This experience has encompassed so many aspects of my life the last four months. I know that there will be a period when I need to unwind and decompress and digest the whole thing: the places, the people, the experiences, the knowledge, the joy and sorrow of meeting wonderful people and then having to say goodbye before you are ready. It’s a jumble right now, and one I still can’t quite wrap my head around.

In the meantime, I still have two finals to focus on. It’s surreal to have these real world concerns nagging at you while you’re in the middle of this strange adventure that has dislocated you from your natural environment. But the work needs to get done, the tests taken and passed and the papers written.

And then it will be time to go home. There is sweetness in that too. I know many of us are looking forward to seeing our friends and our families and our cultural comforts. But we also know that we won’t be the same, that Copenhagen will have impacted us and changed us for the better. We realize that we aren’t just Brazilians or German or Danish or Thai or Korean or Italian or French or American, but that we are global citizens. Even though we have differences, we are also connected by our humanity and our values and our goals. We have been living it every day for the last four months.

I know this blog post is a bit disjointed and all over the place, but I think that’s a reflection of my mind and my thoughts right now. I’m just trying to sit back and take it all in for the next several days.

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

    Categories

