Intersecting Minds: Education, Business and Technology at the North Carolina State Jenkins Graduate School of Management

School Update and COP15 | November 11, 2009

Because this blog is somewhat an encapsulation of my experience I should really share more about why the pace of my blogging has slowed dramatically. Simply put, school is kicking my butt. Due to the trajectory of the courses here, the vast majority of the work is backloaded towards the end of the semester. Here’s what my finals schedule looks like:

Strategic Risk Management: 15-page research paper due Nov 27th

Innovation Management: 30-page team business plan and 20-minute team presentation due December 7th

Advanced Corporate Finance: 4-hour closed book, closed note exam on December 11th

International Logistics Management: 15-page research paper due December 11th

Innovation Management: 15-page research paper due December 22nd

Needless to say, it’s a pretty brutal stretch through late November into December. A lot of research, a lot of writing, and a lot of studying for finance. All of which is to the good. I came here to learn, and the Finance program here is absolutely outstanding. But it’s also requiring a lot of extra time in the library to make sure I don’t fall behind. With trips coming up on Nov 19-22nd to Amsterdam and potentially in mid-December to Stockholm, the time is now to start knocking a lot of this work out. So unfortunately, I will not be able to post as much as I would like to, but I will still keep production up where I can.

One other piece of good news I’d like to share. I’ve been informally invited by CBS to attend “The Greatest Debate on Earth,” a meeting of the world’s top leaders at the COP15 Climate Change Conference. This will be an exceptional opportunity to hear many top officials from around the globe discuss climate change in a forum where the audience will be allowed to ask questions. Who knows, maybe I’ll get to ask a question. So I put the question out to you my readers: What should I ask and to whom?

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

    Categories

