Intersecting Minds: Education, Business and Technology at the North Carolina State Jenkins Graduate School of Management

The Weather | November 4, 2009

It seems almost trite to write a blog post about the weather here in Copenhagen, but considering the circumstances, I think now might be the time. Today is November 4th, and it’s snowing outside right now. Hard. Unfortunately I don’t have my camera or I would snap a picture and upload it because it’s a winter wonderland out there right now.

The weather here is about much more than a single instance of snow though. It’s cold here now, and wet (whether rain or snow, but much more common to see the former than the latter). And it gets dark here early, really really early. Like 4:15 pm early.

I grew up in Portland, Oregon, so I’m used to long, cold, dark “days” that seem more like 24-hour nights than anything else, but after 10 years of living in the San Francisco Bay Area and North Carolina, this is a bit shocking even for me. Weather like this makes you just want to curl up in front of a fire and not go outside all day. I can only imagine what my friends from Australia and Brazil are going through in dealing with this.

On the bright side, it certainly does encourage studying. I’m typing this from the library here at CBS, where I’ve been working on my Strategic Risk Management paper, but it’s become very difficult not to look out the window at the snow. Meanwhile, I’m kicking myself because I forgot both my scarf and my hat. It’s going to be a cold ride back to the dorm later this afternoon. But then again, you haven’t really lived until you’ve been biking in 3 degree weather with a -5 wind chill in the dark at 5:00 pm :).

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

    Categories

