Intersecting Minds: Education, Business and Technology at the North Carolina State Jenkins Graduate School of Management

Copenhagen Update | October 14, 2009

I haven’t really had much to blog about regarding my Study Abroad experience since Culture Night. It’s Week 42, our break week, meaning there are no courses and most of the students head out of town. Instead of taking a trip though, I decided to use this opportunity to catch up on some school work and just enjoy what has been some beautiful, albeit cold weather this week.

It’s pretty surreal to think that I’ve been here for two months now. This is by far the longest amount of time I’ve been out of the United States, and while I’ve gone through some periods of homesickness, I feel good about my living situation here. What I wrote about not owning a car or a television holds even more true now. I enjoy having the extra time in my day to grocery shop for fresh produce, meats and breads. I enjoy using my bike to commute around the city.

Two days ago, I went for a 16 km ride (~10 miles) around the downtown area, from my locale in Frederiksberg up to Nørrebro, then easat across the canal to Nørreport, turning south to Kongens and downtown, then across another canal to Christianshavn and finally back to Rådhuspladsen and home. Copenhagen really does an amazing job of tying together 17th and 18th century aesthetics and style with 21st century architecture. The city can seem quaint yet modern all at the same time. It’s really quite charming. Here’s one of my favorite photos from the top of the Round Tower featuring some of the city’s skyline:

View from the top of the Round Tower

View from the top of the Round Tower

There aren’t really any skyscrapers in Copenhagen. The effect is to highlight the towers you see in the distance that belong to old castles and government buildings from the 18th and 19th centuries. The lack of tall buildings is really similar to Washington DC where the focus is put on the Capitol Building and the monuments instead of the power of the skyline.

And way in the distance, even though you can’t really see it from the picture, massive windmills generate much of the power for the city. Since Copenhagen sits right next to the ocean, there is plenty of wind to power the turbines that create clean, renewable energy. The combination of the old and new – castles and cutting edge architecture; Metro and museums – makes Copenhagen a really unique place and wonderful place to live.

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

    Categories

