Intersecting Minds: Education, Business and Technology at the North Carolina State Jenkins Graduate School of Management

Life Without Television (And Car) | September 22, 2009

One of the major adjustments I’ve had to make while living in Copenhagen has been learning how to live life without two essentials to life in Raleigh: the television and the car. It’s an interesting dichotomy too, because one device (the car) gives so much time back in the form of convenience, while the other (television) sucks so much time away.

Unsurprisingly, I haven’t really missed either. With the exception of individual sporting events, which I can stream live on my computer anyways, I haven’t missed ANY of the shows I used to watch back in the States. Instead, I fill my evenings by socializing with other people in the dorm. I’ve found myself cooking more, to the tune of 7 days/week. And of course, why would I cook alone when I’m surrounded by my peers. Shopping, preparation, dining and cleaning now consume at least 2-3 hours of every day. As a result, I’ve spent more time interacting with and getting to know my peers, and far less time spacing out in front of the boob tube.

As for the car, well, I haven’t really missed that either. I love being outside, even when it’s raining or cold. Maybe this has to do with my upbringing in the wet climate of Portland, Oregon, or maybe it’s because I’m just an outdoors person, but walking/biking everywhere has definitely made me appreciate the elements a bit more. Thankfully, Copenhagen might be the easiest city in the world to live in without a car. The public transportation (Metro, Train, Bus) is top notch, and the bike lanes make riding from one point to another easy and safe.

Additionally, I’ve gained a nice boost of well-being from the fact that I’ve drastically reduced my carbon emissions from giving up the car. The Europeans take climate change much much more seriously than Americans do, and it’s nice to know that I’m doing what I can to reduce my carbon footprint on the planet.

At this point, I’m feeling pretty certain that these two aspects of everyday life will require some of the most adjustment when I come home. I wonder if I’ll have the energy to cook as much when I come home, or to take a walk/bike ride every once in awhile instead of driving (which is virtually impossible to do in Raleigh anyways). It sure would be nice to think so.

Posted in International

1 Comment »

  1. I’m jealous– I think you live in one of the most bike friendly cities in the world.

    Comment by Nick K — September 22, 2009 @ 4:06 pm


Leave a Reply

    Categories

