Intersecting Minds: Education, Business and Technology at the North Carolina State Jenkins Graduate School of Management

Arrival and Initial Impressions | August 17, 2009

Godmorgen fra Kobenhavn! As I type these words I’m looking out the window of my dorm room at Finsensvej Avenue. A steady stream of bicyclists and cars are streaming by in front of several large brick buildings with slanted tile rooves. It’s a beautiful morning here. The sun is out and there’s a nice breeze blowing through the streets.

I arrived at my residence, Kathrine Kollegiet, yesterday at around 2:00 pm local time. Most of my day was spent unpacking and beginning to meet the other exchange students in my residence hall. Although my roommate isn’t here yet, I’ve already met people from the following countries: Australia, Brazil, Portugal, Spain, Germany, Korea, Canada, and even two other Americans. Everyone is very friendly and excited to be here for the next 4.5 months. Most people speak English quite well, although the Spaniards are already asking us (Americans) for help with their English. I’m sure we’ll all have a lot to learn from each other.

As for the accomodations themselves, they are more than adequate (and they should be for what I paid!). The bathroom and kitchen are hilariously small by American standards, but the room itself is a good size for two people, and the view out the window is lovely. There is a large backlot with a basketball court and plenty of benches for eating and hanging out while the weather is nice.

I still need to buy a power converter device so I can plug in the video camera to upload some video and pictures. I’ll try to get some video coverage of Kobenhavn a bit later this week because the next two or three days will be very busy. Just today, I’m going to class from 9-12, picking up a student ID card, purchasing groceries and other necessities, attending our first formal information session, and capping the day off with a Danish Hygge, a cultural event featuring games, entertainers, and snacks. Sounds interesting, to say the least.

3 Comments »

  1. Pictures please!

    Comment by Heather — August 17, 2009 @ 1:57 pm

  2. Ryan,

    Thanks for the update, I am already vicariously enjoying your trip. You are gonna have a blast and I’m looking forward to keeping up with your blog.

    It was great meeting you at the saucer!
    Take care,
    Derek

    Comment by Derek V. DeShane — August 17, 2009 @ 1:59 pm

  3. Yay, Ryan! So happy for you that you get to have this experience. Can’t wait to read more.

    Comment by Jen Arthur — August 18, 2009 @ 1:38 pm


Leave a Reply

    Categories

