Intersecting Minds: Education, Business and Technology at the North Carolina State Jenkins Graduate School of Management

Living History | February 18, 2009

When I started this blog, I envisioned it as a diary about my experience in business school. North Carolina State offers a unique curriculum based on innovation, technology and entrepeneurship, and I wanted to highlight my experiences with that. While I still intend to do that as much as possible, my focus over the last several weeks has been elsewhere.

Namely, global economic events have somewhat taken over the content of this blog. I believe there is good reason for this. We are witnesses to the most cataclysmic economic situation since the Great Depression, except this time its playing out on a truly global scale. As I’ve mentioned, Europe and Asia are struggling more than we are in the United States. And the situation will almost certainly get worse before it gets better.

We are living history. This is a story we’ll tell to our children and grandchildren. Even the optimists at this point acknowledge it will be at least 2010 before we begin to recover, and what I’ll term the realists (Nouriel Roubini, the guys at Baseline Scenario, Paul Krugman) think it might be much longer (i.e. 2012-2015) before we see a real recovery. There’s also a distinct chance that we won’t be able to repair our broken financial systems, and the global economy will fall off the rails completley leading to widespread chaos and anarchy… think Soviet Union in 1989-90.

I feel it’s important to document what we’re witnessing from as many angles as possible. I will try to post as often as I can about how the economy impacts all of us as MBA students who are searching for internships and jobs over the next 12-24 months. I’ll also try to integrate posts about how companies are dealing with the challenges through their use of Web 2.0 and social networking technologies. Darwinism will rule the business world for the next decade. Only the most adaptable and flexible organizations will be able to survive and thrive out there, and there will be many Harvard Case Studies to emerge from the economic carnage around us.

This is the story of our lives, and I’m planning to stick with it every step of the way.

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

    Categories

